• save boissiere house
  • Top Posts

  • The World is Talking, Are You Listening?
  • a

  • Festival of the Trees
  • Scoutle

    Connect with me at Scoutle.com

Dusting this thing off…

I don’t remember where I read it, but I have always been fascinated by the idea of a writer as “someone who has written today“.  In a sense it’s even more true for a blogger – if you haven’t written today, if you’ve fallen out of the habit of blogging, you can’t really call yourself a blogger.  And no matter how bad or good your work, as long as you’re writing every day, as long as you feel the compulsion to blog, you are a blogger.  Even if no one reads a word you write.

Most people who start a blog never become bloggers.  They write once, or maybe a few times, and then abandon the exercise.  Those who catch the bug tend to keep at it for a while, but sooner or later their posts thin out and eventually they realise that they are “ex-bloggers”.   As an ex-blogger, I find myself wondering about two things – what makes people stop, and is it possible to become a true blogger once again?

Some people say they stop because they don’t have the time, but for me that seems like more of an excuse than a reason.  There’s also a sense of losing the urge to write.  But more than that, I wonder if there’s a sense of growing expectations.  When I stopped blogging, I didn’t stop wanting to blog.  I didn’t stop thinking about things that might become good ideas.  I didn’t even stop writing things.  I just stopped finishing them.  It just seemed like the things I wrote weren’t “good enough”.  And the longer you’ve been gone, the more you think you need to return with a bang.

Well, I haven’t returned with a bang.  I can’t say whether I’ve returned at all.  But I’ve volunteered to host the nest Berry-Go-Round.  And now, I think, is as good a time as any to try my hand at writing again.

Leave a Reply

