• save boissiere house
  • Top Posts

  • The World is Talking, Are You Listening?
  • a

  • Festival of the Trees
  • Scoutle

    Connect with me at Scoutle.com

Decent movie, but is it X-Files

I was an X-Files fan, but for whatever reason, I didn’t really watch the show much after the first season.  I never saw (and didn’t want to see) any of the episodes after David Duchovny left the show.  But there was no way I was going to miss the new movie.

I saw The X-FIles:I Want to Believe last night.  I enjoyed the movie, it wasn’t bad…but it didn’t feel like The X-Files.  It was great to see Mulder and Scully back together.  Gillian Anderson was impressive (or so I thought, but don’t trust me to tell the difference between a good performance and a bad one).  It didn’t feel like it was a waste of time to go to the cinema and see.  But it wasn’t what I had expected.

There was something about The X-Files that set it apart from, well, just about everything else I had ever seen on TV.  It wasn’t just the on-going storyline of things alien.  There was something extra, something in the mood, something in the sense of the whole thing.  And that was missing.  So while it was a decent trip to the cinema, it just didn’t feel like The X-Files… But that’s ok – if they make another movie, I’ll still go and see it.  There wasn’t enough here that crushed my eternal optimism.

Leave a Reply

