• save boissiere house
  • Top Posts

  • The World is Talking, Are You Listening?
  • a

  • Festival of the Trees
  • Scoutle

    Connect with me at Scoutle.com

Bad experience

This afternoon I was was greeted with the message that my blog had been suspended for a violation of the WordPress Terms of Service. Having actually read the ToS, I was rather surprised – I couldn’t think of anything I had done that violated it. Re-reading it, I still couldn’t figure out what I had done wrong. Reading the FAQ “My blog has been suspended” was even more disturbing, because it said (a) We do not contact you first to ask that content be modified or removed and (b) You cannot have the blog content back. Having poured the last four months into this blog, I was very distressed to read the latter. Fortunately, before I read the FAQ, I had emailed them and asked what it was I had done wrong. While trying to recover my posts via Google cache, I got an email from Mark who apologised and said that it had been done mistakenly, and that my blog had been reinstated. Huge relief.

While my first thought was “back up your posts”, my second was to wonder, as I had initially, whether this was in some way related to the John Angus Campbell post, or something related to my posts on the Guayanilla Windfarm. While a “mistaken” suspension could come from selecting the wrong blog, it would also be the result of someone acting on a complaint without investigating the matter properly. I know it’s paranoid, but I can’t help but wonder (especially on a day that my email alias mysteriously reset itself).

Makes you wonder. It also shows how addicted I have become to blogging, since one of the first things I did when I found out was to blog about it. Not a fun experience.

4 Responses

  1. Now THAT must have been scary! You have actually forced me to revisit the TOS in case I overlooked something!

  2. My vague impression is that the people who own WordPress (the software, at least) are pretty freedom-loving touchy feely geek types. That could mean libertarian (and thus annoying in their own way) but I can’t see them giving anyone a hard time because of environmental issues or evo/creo. But that is just a vague impression and it could be totally wrong.

    But it does point out a downside of blogging on a blogging service. Another downside is that if your service is sufficiently eclectic then it will have “objectionable” content somewhere on it (objectionable to someone) and thus is subject to filtering. At least one major service is blocked from at least one school system that I know of, so teachers can’t use any of the content on it (which happens to exclude Larry Moran’s site, which is unfortunate).

  3. Yeah, my wife’s school blogs access to blogger as well (though I assumed that it was to prevent students from blogging in class or something like that, didn’t think of the whole “objectionable content” thing). And yes, I have started thinking about a private hosting service.

  4. Did youever receive a reason why this occured? I’m assuming that someone (or someone’s proxy) complained, no doubt related to something you’ve written about a certain controversial yet utterly inane subject. Getting your own domain name and paying someone to host it would be a very good idea.

Leave a Reply

