• save boissiere house
  • Top Posts

  • The World is Talking, Are You Listening?
  • a

  • Festival of the Trees
  • Scoutle

    Connect with me at Scoutle.com

The idea of job hunting is getting closer. Jobs f…

The idea of job hunting is getting closer. Jobs for Fall 2006 are appearing on The Chronicle. It’s a little scary – on one hand, I don’t feel prepared enough, on the other, I hate the fact that I have to thro wmy hat in the ring now for jobs that won’t become reality for over a year. Sometimes I think that the fear of success is as great as the fear of failure – not only is there the fear that you won’t get a job, there’s the fear that you will accept the wrong job, and then, after you have accepted it, a much better job will come along.

There’s still a part of me that would rather postdoc than take a real job. Take another year or two after this one and try to find something that will allow you to dive full-time into research. The truth is, not only am I too old for that, but I don’t want to drag Linz to another town for 1 or 2 more years, only to have to relocate again. She needs stability if she is going to figure out what she is going to do with her life. Although I joke that she can be employed anywhere that there are people, if we follow my job opportunities hers will be more limited. Life, eh?

One Response

  1. Life indeed!

    I don’t know if you’re looking for advice, but personally, if and opportunity pops up, I think you should take it. It might not end up being your dream job, but it could turn out to be a very nice job and could potentially lead to even better opportunities.

    Best of luck wherever you end up!

    -Segan

Leave a Reply

